6 October 2015

Who are you?

I'm Karina! I'm 25 years old (June baby) and I live in a town called Berlin in Southern New Jersey. I live with my mom, my fiancé, and our two cats. I work from home full time making jewelry and accessories for my Etsy shop, Always Anchors

What does "Little Quaintrelle" mean? 

I came across the word "quaintrelle" while on the search for a blog name! I stumbled upon this old Tumblr that (unfortunately) isn't updated anymore, and I fell in love with so many new, interesting words that I had never heard before. A quaintrelle (n.) is a woman who emphasizes a life of passion, expressed through personal style, leisurely pastimes, charm, and cultivation of life's pleasures. How sweet is that? I thought it was quite fitting for a Lifestyle blog, and I added "Little" in front of it because I stand at only 5'2" tall. If you have some extra time, be sure to check out Otherwordly, I promise it's worth the read!

What will you blog about?

I aim to make this a Lifestyle blog. I couldn't choose just one topic, so why not cover them all? I'll be talking about my life, weekend adventures, my small business, DIY projects, recipes, and whatever else comes along! 

Do you have any advice about selling on Etsy? 

Tons! I get this question quite frequently, so I will most likely be making a blog post about it in the near future. I've been selling on Etsy since 2011 so I've had my fair share of experiences and advice that I don't mind sharing. Once that post happens, I'll be sure to link back to it here. 

What kind of camera do you use?

I use a Canon EOS 7D, a Nikon D40 (my first old, trusty DSLR), and my iPhone 6s camera. I edit with the basic Macbook Photos App, I haven't ventured into the world of Photoshop just yet. 

How did you and Luke meet? 

Luke and I met on Tumblr back in 2009, or whatever year "Tumblarity" was around. I had the highest tumblarity in the vegetarian section and that's how he found my Tumblr (it was a pretty close-knit community back in 2008-2010 and I made many close friends from all over the world). We were both going through breakups in 2010 when we started talking more frequently, mainly helping each other through those breakups, and we ended up having feelings for each other. Five years later, we're still together! 

Tell us more about your cats! 

Do you really want me to talk more about cats?! Well, you don't have to ask me twice. We adopted Willow in 2010 at an amazing animal shelter here in South Jersey called the Animal Welfare Association. His name at the shelter was "Paperclip" and that HAD to go, so Willow it was! His personality is very human-like, we always joke that he's a human stuck in a cat body (Hocus Pocus, anyone?). He's very on and off, sometimes he'll demand to be cuddled, and other times he wants nothing to do with you. He loves going outside, but we have to watch him closely because we live on a busy street. He's very curious and he loves begging for "people" food. We adopted Olive from the Camden County Animal Shelter in Sewell, NJ in 2012 and it was such a hassle! After a week of getting the runaround about her health and shots, we were able to bring her home. Her name at the shelter was CK, and her brother's name was KC. He was being picked up the same day by another young couple. We stuck with the tree name theme and decided on naming her Olive. She's very shy towards new people, she HATES the vacuum cleaner and loud noises (she'll hide the rest of the day when the vacuum comes out), and she only meows when you sneeze or when you make cute meowing sounds at her (depending on her mood). She is the sweetest little cat, it's hard to deal with how cute she is sometimes! 

* This page is a work in progress and will continue to be updated periodically!*


About Me

8 September 2015


My name is Karina. I'm 25 years old, and I live in a little old house in Southern New Jersey with my mom, fiancé Luke, and our two cats Willow and Olive. 

I've been self-employed for a little over a year now. I own Always Anchors, a small handmade jewelry and accessory shop on Etsy. I spend most of my time sewing, gluing, and packaging orders, all while binge-watching TV shows on Netflix! Always Anchors also does a few craft fairs each year, and you can find some of our products in small local businesses. I worked at a dental lab for 7 years (I know way too much about teeth...) before taking the plunge into the self-employed world, and it was one of the best decisions I've ever made!

Luke and I have been together since 2010. We met on Tumblr (of all places!) and we got engaged in 2012. I'm thankful every day that I've found someone as driven, caring, and dedicated as he is both to me and to everything else in his life. Sometimes it's scary how much we have in common, from being vegetarians (7 years for me, 6 for him), to sharing a favorite band (Brand New), to agreeing on exactly how we want our future house (dark wood floors, white trim, and light gray walls, please!). He works as a software engineer in New York City doing things that I can't even begin to understand, like building this blog for me from scratch! We both love cats, antiquing, DIY projects, cooking,  seeing movies (only on weekend mornings, we're not big fans of people), and dining out. 

Some of my favorite shows include: The Walking Dead, Parks and Rec, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, American Horror Story, Pretty Little Liars (no shame), Greek, Fear the Walking Dead, Freaks and Geeks, Outlander,  Being Human (US), Doctor Who, Peaky Blinders, Supernatural, Orange Is the New Black, and probably a thousand more I've forgotten. You name it, I've probably seen it.

You can find me at the following links! 

Instagram  ♥  Facebook  ♥  Shop  ♥  Twitter  ♥  Tumblr  ♥  Flickr  ♥  Pinterest  ♥  Snapchat: karina.walters

tags: About Me